Minuet – a guitar adventure

Minuet – a guitar adventure

Hello again and welcome to my blog! In this post i am going to cover what happened since the first GSoC evaluation and give you some overview on the status of my work.

Since the last post I’ve been working on the implementation of the guitar plugin, along with adjusting the existing piano plugin to better suit to the new framework.

As you remember from my last post, minuet currently supports multiple plugins to display its exercises. To change from one plugin to another, all you have to do is to press on the desired instrument name: for now, only “Guitar” and “Piano” are available.

dupa

 

In the past couple of weeks, I’ve been deciphering the guitar notes representation and also the guitar chords. I don’t want to discourage anyone from learning how to play the guitar, but man.. It was so hard and tiresome.. Nevertheless, my previous piano experience helped me better understand the guitar specifics and get up to speed with the theory needed to complete my project.keyChords.PNG

 

Then I talked with my mentor on Hangouts and, using http://chordfind.com as a base (which is indeed a great start for beginners who want to learn guitar/piano and many other 4-strings instruments chords), we agreed on two specific representations for each cord: Major, Minor, Augmented, Diminished, etc. for chords with the root note in the C-E range or in the F-B range.

Then i started working at the core of the plugin guitar: to keep functional the piano keyboard, i had to implement the exact same methods used by the piano plugin. I won’t go into too much coding detail (the code is available on GitHub on my fork of Minuet and on the official GSoC branch when completed), but with a little twitch to the current ExerciseView component, I managed to create a guitar plugin that runs the Minuet’s chords exercises.

It look like this:

  • minor and major chords

minor and major chords.gif

  • diminished and augmented chords

diminished and augmented chords.gif

  • minor7 and dominant7 chords

minor7 and dominant7 chords

  • minor9 and major9 chords

minor9 and major9 chords

 

Leave a Reply

